The 5 Levels of Consciousness

When you think about the word consciousness, what is the first thing that comes to mind? Personally, I once believed that the state of consciousness was to simply be alive or awake. But, as life progressed and my spiritual life evolved, I realized my understanding of consciousness was only the tip of the ice berg.

For the majority of my life, I lived on auto pilot. I got out of bed and dressed the same way, drove the same route to work, made my coffee the same, had the same reoccurring thoughts and went to bed at the same time. Most days I felt like Bill Murray in Ground Hog Day.

It was in this perpetual cycle of discontentment, previously mentioned in The Void, that something shifted. I intuitively realized that my current state of consciousness was creating my reality. A reality that no longer served my soul. 

These are the 5 levels of consciousness that I believe everyone experiences in a spiritual awakening. These levels of consciousness can either be the evolution or the demise of a person. 

Victim Consciousness

This consciousness is where a lot of people live. I’ve talked about being laid off from 4 jobs and the mental toll it took on me. As a result, I became depressed and angry. I blamed everyone! I blamed my horrible boss, the company, the economy and even my degree. I played the woe is me every chance I could. 

And guess what? I started to attract more circumstances that allowed me to play the starring role— the victim. You see, we are all vibrational beings and victim consciousness is the lowest vibration a person can be in. This mindset will keep you stagnant and attracting things you do not want. Instead of creating those perpetual victimizing thoughts, create the vibration of victory. Believe that no matter what life throws your way, “you are the master of your fate and the captain of your soul.” 

Present Consciousness

So many times, we get caught up in living in the past or the future. We think about things we should have done differently or how much better life will be once we are married. But living in the past or future is dangerous! It creates a false perception of happiness. In fact, I believe wanting something to be what it isnot is where a lot of our suffering takes place. One of the easiest ways to bring yourself into present consciousness is to simply- be here now. 

This state of awareness has single handedly been the biggest game changer in my life! Gratitude consciousness allows you to walk in the awareness of complete gratefulness. Once I realized how truly unbelievable it was to be a human being on this planet, I began to become grateful for the smallest and most insignificant things. 

Gratitude Consciousness

Things like the sound of my heart beating, access and mobility of my limbs, the sound of my daughter laughing and the way the wind felt on my skin were, in actuality, pretty damn significant after all. I realized we are all walking miracles and this life is what you make it. Once I immersed myself into this awareness, I began attracting more things to be grateful for! 

Unity Consciousness

You may have heard the cliche quote that “we are all one.” For a long time, I thought this was just a colorful play on words or the fluff a guru would say. But it turns out, it is true. You will hear scientists explain that everything in the universe is connected, and the same particles that make up the stars can also be found in our bodies. 

We all have different ethnicities, skin color, hair textures, dialects, and socio-economic statuses, but at the core of each of us, we are the same. We have the same basic needs of survival and essentially want the same things in life. Unity consciousness allows you to see this fundamental truth and to see another being as you would see yourself. 

God Consciousness

This particular consciousness is the highest vibration and state of awareness a person can achieve. This awareness allows you to know that the same divine source that created oceans, blades of grass, leaves on an oak tree, petals of a sunflower and the intelligence that keeps your heart beating dwells within you. God consciousness is love and nonjudgment. It is a subtle knowing that no matter what is and what will be, all is well. 

We are a way for the universe to know itself. Some part of our being knows this is where we came from. We long to return.” –Carl Sagan

We are all on a journey of self-discovery. Each of us are operating out of the only level of consciousness and sense of awareness that we know of. That alone prevents me from getting frustrated with a person because they just “don’t get it” or calling them stupid. Sometimes it takes a person one time to expand their way of thinking and sometimes it may take themseveral lifetimes. Either way, relax and breathe. All is well.

Love & Light

Edited by: Aleshia Webber

Similar Posts


  1. I enjoyed this read. It is so relatable to my most recent journey and I feel as though I’m at the point of gratitude consciousness. I never knew there were levels to this but I now have A better understanding of what I’ve been going through.

Leave a Reply